Skip to main content

New FCT Directive Council begins its functions

FCT's new Board of Directors is already in place.

Helena Pereira, Full Professor at the Higher Institute of Agronomy and Vice-President of FCT from 2017 to 2019, now takes over as President of the Institution; José Paulo Esperança, Full Professor at ISCTE - University Institute of Lisbon and Director of ISCTE Business School from 2015 to 2019, is the new Vice-President; Nuno Feixa Rodrigues, Associate Professor at the Polytechnic Institute of Cávado and Ave who leaves his position as Director of DIGARC - Digital Games Research Center of IPCA, and Emília Moura, former Director of the Department of Management and Administration of FCT appointed to the Office of the Minister of Science, Technology and Higher Education since 2015, where she served as Head of Office, assume the position of Member of the Board of Directors.

According to the new President, Helena Pereira, "our major goal is to consolidate the funding instruments, with emphasis on scientific employment but without forgetting the projects, Studentships and institutions". The leader of the team appointed for the period 2019-2022 explains that she intends to "ensure regularity and predictability in funding, thus responding to the wishes of the scientific community.